About Us


"Investing In Tomorrow" through innovative learning opportunities that advance scientific and environmental awareness.

Executive Committee

Wayne Rayfield

Retired Business Leader
John Williams III
Vice Chair
Attorney at Law
Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Tim McMahon
Immediate Past Chair

Sr. Vice President
CB Richard Ellis
Mel Chambers
MLPC Investments, LLC
Bill Steel
At Large

Samuels, Green, Steel & Adams, LLP
Brett Mansfield
At Large
Sr. V.P. Business Sales Mgr., Union Bank
Mr. Dan Stetson

Ocean Instititute
Scott Connella
Executive V.P.
Union Bank


Doug Abramson
Sr. Vice President
RBF Consulting
Beth Apodaca
Sand Dollar Guild
Lisa Bartlett
Councilmember, City of Dana Point
Bruce Brainerd
General Manager
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Lewis "Bud" Bruggeman
Retired Radiologist
Scott Burrows
First Vice President Wealth Management
Smith Barney
Gary Capata
Capata & Company
Derrick Davidson
Vice President/General Manager
Cox Media
Sanford Edward
Headlands Reserve LLC
Dennis E. Gabrick President/CEO
Preserved TreeScapes International
Rick Hadley
Chairman and CEO
Hawaiian Springs, LLC
Terry Horne
Orange County Register
Toni Iseman
Council Member
City of Laguna Beach
Kajsa James 
Maddie James Foundation
Harold Kaufman
EPS Settlements
Joe Martino
Howard S. Wright Constructors, LP
Maurice Masson
Merit Properties, Inc
Bob McKnight
Quiksilver, Inc.
Barbara Merriman
Lantern Bay Charters
Gail Cobin Moscoso
Vice President
Pacific Life Insurance Co.
Kim Olenicoff
Olenicoff & Zinser
The Pond Inc
Harold Rapoza
General Manager
Anaheim Hilton
Jim Samuels
General Manager
Laguna Cliffs Marriott
Mark Slymen
Montage Hotels & Resorts
Johnny So
General Manager
St.Regis Resort, Monarch Beach
Charlie Steinmetz
JCA Associates, Inc
Bryan Stirrat
Bryan A. Stirrat & Associates
James Swenson
Retired Business Leader
Michael Torcaso
Jens Von Gierke
Wave Hospitality Advisors LLC
Greg Wohl
Wohl Investment Company
Marine Artist
Our Board & Friends Speak
Listen to what our friends have said about the Ocean Institute.
View Testimonials >